Child Molestation Defense Attorney
Ohle Law P.A. provides top-notch representation in West Palm Beach
Authorities in Florida view child molestation as one of the most serious crimes, and prosecutors work tirelessly to secure a conviction. Combating this type of criminal charge requires an experienced defense lawyer who is adept at anticipating the strategies typically used by prosecuting attorneys. Ohle Law P.A. will thoroughly investigate all evidence and prepare the most aggressive defense possible to increase your chances of avoiding the stigma and severe penalties a child molestation conviction can bring in West Palm Beach.
According to Florida statutes…
Laws covering child molestation are found in several Florida statutes:
- Sexual abuse of a child includes touching the genitals, anal opening, breasts, groin, buttocks or any other intimate area of any child under the age of 16. It is considered sexual abuse whether the victim is clothed or not, and the touching may involve using an object, hands, mouth or genitals.
- In Florida, the crime of sexual battery includes touching a child with sexual intent without his or her consent. This touching can include penetrating the mouth, vagina or anus with a sexual organ or an object.
- The crime of lewd and lascivious molestation includes touching anyone under 16 in a sexual manner or encouraging the victim to touch another person in a sexual manner.
The Florida Council Against Sexual Violence (FCASV) states that 15 percent of sexual assault victims are under the age of 12, and 29% are age 12 to 17. Statistics also show that family members or acquaintances – not strangers – are responsible for committing roughly 93% of all child molestations.
Types of felony charges
The age of the victim and the age of the perpetrator are key factors in determining the level of punishment for a child molestation conviction:
- If the defendant is 18 or older and the victim is under 12, it is a life felony, and the prison term can range from 40 years to life.
- If the defendant is under 18 and the victim is under 12, it is considered a second-degree felony, and the penalty is up to 15 years in prison.
- If the defendant is 18 or older and the victim is 12 to 16 years of age, it is also a second-degree felony with a maximum prison sentence of 15 years.
- If the defendant is under 18 and the victim is 12 to 16, it is considered a third-degree felony, which carries a prison term of up to five years.
- A conviction of child molestation requires registry on the state’s sex offenders list.
These serious charges require serious dedication to your case. Call our sex crime defense lawyers in West Palm Beach today so we can immediately go to work on your case. At Ohle Law P.A., we will fight aggressively on your behalf as we prepare the most solid child molestation defense possible.