Possible penalties if convicted in Florida
A conviction for exhibiting your sexual organs in a lewd manner to anyone 16 or older is a first-degree misdemeanor, which holds a maximum penalty of one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If the offense occurs near a school or is in the presence of a minor under the age of 16, in person or over the Internet, it is a second-degree felony. Punishment for a felony of the second degree can include a maximum prison sentence of 15 years, a maximum fine of $10,000 and registration as a sexual offender or predator.
Types of defenses
There are numerous defense strategies against an indecent exposure charge in Florida. A thorough investigation by our experienced attorneys can help determine if the exposure was unintentional, if it was not meant to be viewed by anyone else, if it did not occur in a location prohibited by state law, or if it occurred without vulgar intent. If the case cannot be dismissed entirely, we often can negotiate a lesser charge with less severe penalties.
Retaining an experienced attorney is a must
Your best bet for avoiding the life-changing consequences of a criminal exposure conviction in West Palm Beach is to discuss your legal options with the professionals at Ohle Law P.A. Contact our indecent exposure lawyers today so that we can begin preparing a solid case to help protect your rights.